Lucky

It’s a funny thing, the more I practice the luckier I get. ~ Arnold Palmer

I know it’s been a minute since I’ve written anything, but, in my defense, I’ve been busy as a long-tailed cat at a rocking-chair convention. Work is kicking my ass with more and diverse projects. School is awesome, but a ton of work. Family, well, I have a teenage boy, need I say more? I guess you could say I’m busy and be technically accurate. In past lives, I perhaps would have been simply just freaked out. I mean, it’s all so overwhelming, right?! The weird thing is that I’m at peace. Favor with my bosses by way of a promotion (after 11 months in my current position). Favor with the grade gods at school (closed out my first college class in 20 years with a solid A). A teenage boy who actually smiled for three whole seconds this afternoon. Without trying to jinx myself, right at the moment, things are going pretty dang good. Lucky? Well, if by luck you mean, working my ass off and being recognized for it, then hell yeah I’m lucky! Turns out, being present, engaged and putting in the work really does pay dividends. Does that mean that life’s easy? Ummm, no, I’ve got more balls in the air than a Harlem Globetrotter and, yeah, I’m a little scared because, well, it’s a lot of balls to be managing. But, when I get a little freaked out, I remind myself of something a professor shared: “I can so do this!”

Here’s to all the hard work that goes in to being lucky in life. Cheers y’all!

Categories: Growth, Thought for Day | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

