Language of the Soul

Language is magic: it makes things appear and disappear. ~ Nicole Brossard

Tuesday’s are incredibly busy at my house. I’m out the door by 7:30 in the morning with the knowledge that I won’t be pulling back in the driveway until well after 10:00 that night. Tuesday is also the night of one of my favorite TV shows, So You Think You Can Dance. Thankfully, due to the wonders of technology, I don’t have to miss this rather marvelous show. So, Wednesday night, Paris and I sat down, hit play on the DVR and were treated to some amazing dancing. Interspersed between dance sequences were some great stories designed to tug at the heart strings. The story of Shane Garcia was particularly beautiful. We were introduced to Shane in an interview with the host and we quickly found out that this kid could barely string together more than two words without stuttering so badly one practically couldn’t understand him. I remember thinking, “gosh, I hope this guy can dance, otherwise telling his story would be kind of crass!” Then he took the stage and when he was done, he had told his story in such a magical way that those of us witnessing were left speechless. This kid may not be able to have an easy-going conversation like I can, but he has learned a language that transcends words. He told us that his world wasn’t confined by the words he could barely utter anyway…his world was bigger somehow. It was pure, unadulterated magic AND a valuable lesson for me. There are all sorts of limitations that I have, whether they be imposed by society or self-imposed. Whatever those limitations, they have served at times to keep me from the abundant life I was created to live. What would happen if I realized that a limitation in one area doesn’t confine me in all areas? By releasing myself from the limitations I carry, perhaps my own magic would start to appear. It’s worth a thought!

Here’s to realizing the magic in each of us! Cheers y’all!

Categories: Growth, Passion, Success, Thought for Day | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

