Climbing Stairs

…we must lay one brick at a time, take one step at a time. ~ Dorothy Day

I read an article recently that actually said that the most effective exercise of all is climbing stairs. Since my office is on the fifth floor and I walk the stairs to get to my office, it made me feel a little bit better about all the huffing-and-puffing I do. Like maybe, I’m actually doing something beneficial. On the climb up those stairs, someone took the time to paint, “climbing stairs is a workout that doesn’t require going to the gym.” Some days I look at that sign and want to paint curses over it. First stair. Second stair. Third stair. Fourth stair. Ever climbing. Sure you can do a two-stair hop, but it’s the grind of doing one stair at a time that pays the highest dividend. Starting new projects is often overwhelming to me. I see the enormity of the task at hand and feel completely overwhelmed. I freak out. If I’m smart, I keep my freak out to myself. Most of the time, I’m not that smart. I have mini-meltdowns that really aren’t that cute. Over the past few years, as I’ve faced progressively greater challenges, I’ve learned the importance of breaking the project or challenge into smaller, more manageable steps with each one bringing me closer to the end goal. After 20+ years, last night I started a new (and slightly daunting) project…going back to school. As I looked at ALL that would be required of me, fears started to take over. Can I do this? Is my brain capable of stretching and expanding? Do I really have time? Can I successfully balance work, life, family AND school? It has taken a reminder that there is no magic genie to blink me to the top of the stairs, rather to reach my goal, I’m going to have to put one foot in front of the other and climb.

Here’s to reaching our goals…one stair at a time! Cheers y’all!

Categories: Breathe, Change, Thought for Day | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

