Write It Down

I guess this is kind of a ratty question, but what have you written lately? ~ Audrey Hepburn

It’s been a little bit over a year since I last wrote anything down. I would apologize but given everything that has transpired this past year, I frankly just didn’t have the time. A quick recap: last summer, my family and I relocated to Portland OR from the Los Angeles CA area for my work. Getting settled in to a new home, new job, new church, new schools (yes, that’s a plural as we’re all in school) and a new pattern of living has taken an inordinate amount of time and energy. But I can’t complain because life, life is good! Paris is rapidly approaching the end of his 9th grade year at the local high school; a year that saw him making new and lifetime friends, reconnecting with family, playing on a winning football team and growing like a weed. There’s been a new house to acclimate to along with figuring out what it takes to keep the yard looking like the best one on the block, not to mention our ever expanding menagerie which just this past week saw the addition of four baby chicks. My new job has taken on new and exciting dynamics that are unexpected and so rewarding. And then there is school. School was a concept that was always in the back of my mind but never seemed to germinate…until now. And so, here I am, feeling like a kid again. This mixture of fear and excitement is a new feeling for me. And it’s a feeling I kind of like. As I’m reading through the first chapter of the textbook for my first class, I realize I’ve got a lot to learn. Part of learning is sharing and so, I’m going to start that process by sharing my learning with you. I promise it’ll be fun! Just like old times! You ready?

Here’s to learning and growing and everything that means! Cheers y’all!

Categories: Change, Family, Growth, Thought for Day | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

