SPIDER!

Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate, but that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that frightens us. ~ Marianne Williamson

The other day, while Paris played outside with the neighborhood kids, I took the opportunity to perform one of my least favorite chores…cleaning the bathroom. I had just started mopping the floor when I heard all this screaming, yelling and general racket. Cries of “kill it” and “stomp on it” were followed by more screams and yells. I really didn’t feel like running downstairs, but given all the commotion, I figured I’d better check it out. Just as I started down the stairs I heard Paris yell “I’ll be brave!” The screaming and yelling stopped and before I had a chance to get down the stairs, normalacy had returned. I found out later it was a spider that had scared the girls and brought out the bravery of my kid. Last night after I climbed into bed, my mind again turned to the kid’s bravery super-imposed over the quote attributed to Ms. Williamson. I wondered what would happen if we really recognized our fear for what it was (fear of success) and made a determined effort to be brave; to suck it up and actually live in the light our success brings. My little guy faced the fear the spider brought AND he instantly became a hero to the little girls surrounding him (at least one of whom thinks he’s “hot”).

Here’s to recognizing our fears for what they really are! Cheers y’all!

Categories: Children, Fear, Paris, Success | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “SPIDER!

  1. Pingback: DISCUSSING SPECIAL SAUCE AND HOT CARLS! « THE WAY I AM:

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

