We’re rich!

We’re rich!! ~ The Kid aka Paris

It took a split second for me to realize that only a 9 year old can look at a stack of one dollar bills ($10 worth to be exact) and make such a bold statement. I really hated to deflate my 9 year old’s view of wealth and so, I told him that we were in fact rich, just probably not quite like he thought. I must admit though that saying it with a straight face was perhaps the hardest thing I had ever done. Sure, we make good money and have some cool toys but rich…HA…that’s rich! As I looked at my [non-winning] lotto numbers tonight, it hit me once again that true riches are often overlooked in our quest for cash. Having your child tell you he loves you just because has to be one of the greatest riches a man could ask for. Loving that special someone in your life, and having them love you back…through thick and thin…that counts for a whole lot of wealth! Parents who love you, respect you, support you…man, that’s some bank! Couple that with siblings and friends who provide community, continuity, love, support, friendship and heck, I’m suddenly feeling like Bill Gates. We may not have won $640 million tonight, but Paris was absolutely right! We are rich!

Here’s to being rich! Cheers y’all!

Categories: Family, Friends, Happiness, Health, Life, Lotto, Paris, Thought for Day | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “We’re rich!

  1. Now that’s what I call good thinking’! Rich,indeed! Much richer than gold or silver.
    Love you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

