Scaredy Cat

Fear makes the wolf bigger than he is. ~ German Proverb

When I was a kid, I had a recurring dream that I was falling from some great height. While I never landed in those dreams, that feeling of falling has never left me. Today, at the advanced age of [mumble, mumble], I have an irrational fear of heights. As a young adult we visited the Space Needle in Seattle. Attempting to walk out onto the Observation Deck dang near made me pee myself. I was paralyzed. I envied those people who could walk up to the railing and look out over the amazing landscape. The Sears Tower in Chicago has a Sky Deck that I hear is amazing. Over thirteen hundred feet and 103 stories above the ground, this Sky Deck allows a person to see for miles around…in to four different states in fact. Watching a group of friends stroll out with abandon gave me momentary courage, at least until I actually got out there at which point I really did wet myself. In an effort to overcome my fear of heights and of falling, I gathered every last little bit of courage I could muster and went bungee jumping. Yes, I did and you guessed it, I pee’d myself. Did I overcome my fear of heights? Yes and no. I found out I didn’t have to be paralyzed by fear but, well, there was that wet spot on my jeans that had to be dealt with. There’s a Moorish Proverb that says something to the effect that the person who “fears something gives it power over him.” What are you scared of? Is that fear keeping you from your destiny?

Here’s to facing our fears head on!! Cheers y’all!

Categories: Confession, Fear, Growth, Thought for Day | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

