Again?!?!

Did I pee on the toilet seat…again?!? ~ The kid aka Paris

“Paris,” I yelled, “get your butt out here NOW!” Out he came from his bedroom saying “what?!” as only a nine year old boy can do. I just stood and pointed to the wet toilet seat. He looked with the most bewildered look on his face and then blurted out the line above seemingly shocked that he had, once again, forgotten to lift the toilet seat before doing his business. I wanted to yell (I’m good at that sometimes), but the look on his face was so priceless that I stopped, tried to surpress a guffaw, pointed to the disenfecting wipes hoping he would get the point and walked out of the bathroom. As humans, we are, or at least should be, in constant growth mode. That doesn’t mean that we get everything right the first go-around. Heck, even now at my “advanced” years, I still find that I forget to do certain things that I’ve supposedly already “learned.” Most the time I’d like to beat myself up, really tear me a new one over my lack of perfection. I think though that’s awfully counter-productive. Perhaps, instead of yelling and screaming at myself, I should look at it as a “teachable moment” (as our President likes to say), a time to reinforce what I already know. Growth is constant! But as with all growth there will be failure. Learning to accept the fact that failure is part of the growth process is itself an important part. Maybe even more important is learning not to beat myself up or allow someone else to beat me up because I messed up [again]. Rather it should be a time to pick myself up, dust myself off, get back on track AND maybe even have a good laugh over the absurdity of it all.

“Again?!?!” Sure! No problem! Just clean up your mess and try to remember that’s it’s not the end of the world! Cheers y’all!

Categories: Blame, Confession, Growth, Paris, Thought for Day | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

