A Prayer

Tonight I sat with a friend who is going through deep torment. It’s painful to watch one you love and care for going through so much and know that there is nothing you can do or say to change the situation. So, I listened and I cried a little and in my heart, I prayed a prayer for peace of mind. Instead of my usual thought for the day, I’d like to offer this prayer in honor of my friend, and everyone, who is going through a dark, tormented place.

Dear God,

The thoughts in my mind are not the ones I want.
I don’t seem to be doing a great job of changing them.

I am willing to think what you would have me think.
I am willing to be at peace.

I claim the confidence of the psalmist in Psalm 91:

You deliver me my God from the snare of the fowler.
You deliver me my God from the noisome pestilence.

I now affirm:
The thoughts in my mind are the ones I want.
I am thinking what you would think.
I am at peace.

Thank you so much.

Amen

Good night my friend! “May the peace that passes all human understanding guard your mind and heart.”

Categories: Discouragement, Friends, God's Care, Stress, Thought for Day | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

