Exhausted?

A good book should leave you slightly exhausted at the end. You live several lives while reading it. ~ William Styron

Growing up we didn’t have a TV. Finally, at 17 we got one. I’d like to say that a whole world was opened up to me, but, in truth, my world was already far expanded beyond my short 17 years. At an early age, reading was encouraged in my family. My mom and dad read to us before we could read and, as I grew older, reading was my escape. At age 14, my mom and I waded into the writings of John Ronald Reuel Tolkien. I remember staying up all night, the reading light emitting a dim glow beneath my covers reading about the adventures of Bilbo Baggins of Baggins End, Gandolf and all the other interesting and other-worldly characters that inhabit The Hobbit and the Trilogy of the Rings. The lives I lived during the reading of those books was intense. I’m currently re-reading these masterpieces (I’ve finished The Hobbit and The Fellowship of the Ring) and, again, I’m finding myself wrapped up, and yes, slightly exhausted. As Paris was learning to read, every night we would read The Chronicles of Narnia like my parents did with me. The other day, packing up some books to give to the school book drive, we came across the Narnia books and Paris reminded me of the nights we spent reading them. I had wondered if our reading sessions had made a difference in a little boys mind. Turns out, they had. Reading gave me the tools to communicate, gave me dreams to chase after, gave me sleepless nights, yeah, reading left me exhausted. I’m better off for reading!

Here’s to reading! As Dr. Seuss says, “oh the places you’ll go!” Cheers y’all!

Categories: Children, Dr. Seuss, Growth, Mom, Thought for Day | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Exhausted?

  1. Nothing’s quIte as good as reading a great book, unless you’re reading it to someone 🙂 Part of the experience is the atmosphere created and enjoyed; what wonderful memories are made! Thanks. Love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

