A Big Bat

I have heard there are troubles of more than one kind. Some come from ahead and some come from behind. But I’ve bought a big bat. I’m all ready you see. Now my troubles are going to have troubles with me! ~ Theodore Seuss Geisel

I love this quote by the creator of Bartholomew and the Obleck. I can hear you saying, Bartholomew who? As a kid that was one of my favorite Dr. Seuss books and well, I still am partial to it. It makes me smile. The wisdom of Dr. Seuss is well documented and not unfamiliar to me, but it wasn’t until recently that I read the quote above that is attributed to him. I love what he is saying here – trouble is a fact of life and it can come from any direction and run you ragged if you aren’t careful. Mr. Geisel though seems to have landed on a winning solution…take charge of those things that seek to cause trouble in your life…show them who’s the boss…kick trouble’s ass. We can’t always change what we have to deal with but we can change the way we deal with it.

Here’s to carrying a big bat!!

Categories: Dr. Seuss, Health, Thought for Day | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

