Checking In

Sometime around the beginning of the year, I laid out for all three of you, my loyal readers, a list of goals I put out into the universe for myself for this new year. It struck me this evening that perhaps I should re-read those goals so that when the end of the year sneaks up on me, I might have actually made some progress towards these goals. And yes, I know it’s only February 20th, but dang it y’all, it’s already February 20th. Get my point?! I knew you would!

So where am I in reference to those [lofty] goals laid down on paper when I was sicker-than-a-dog (yes I was…nothing like being away from your own bed and being sick…even if you are with family)? Well, since you’ve ask (ok, since I rhetorically asked for you), here’s a little update…

– Finalize move by June

Progress is made, even though at times it feels like I’m strolling through peanut butter and that’s all I have to say about that.

– Do one trip to Florida to visit parents

Well, this has been on my mind, but I haven’t made reservations yet…guess I should start!

– Bake birthday cake for each nephew (this will necessitate four trips to Portland throughout the year)

First birthday isn’t until this spring, May I think, so, the plan is still in place even though no birthday has occurred yet.

– Work on settling home life

All three areas (relationship, financial, savings) of this bullet point are progressing and I’m happy with where I stand…and that’s all I have to say about that.

– Take a cooking class

Started doing research but nothing nailed down…yet.

– Join a wine club

Again, started doing research, but nothing nailed down…yet.

– Gym regiment – 4/5 days week

Yeah, well, I’ve admittedly been lazy and have averaged about two trips to the gym for January and so far in February. That is changing though!! Tonight I enjoyed a great workout and will go again tomorrow…yeah me!!

– Blog 3 times per week

Well, twice during the month of January and once (so far) during the month of February really doesn’t satisfy this goal does it?! Perhaps this little excercise will be the jump start I need to get my ass in gear.

– Personal reading – one book per month

Well, here I can report that I am on goal! Woo Hoo!!! In January I read The Hobbit and yesterday I finished up The Fellowship of the Ring. Apparently I’m on a J.R.R. Tolkein kick which, given that I haven’t read his works since I was 15, ain’t such a bad thing.

Today’s thought comes from the wisest stuffed animal I know, Winnie the Pooh and goes out to my family wherever you are –

If there ever comes a day when we can’t be together, keep me in your heart, I’ll stay there forever.

And with that touching little thought, I raise a glass (a rather lovely little Pinot Noir if I do say so myself) and toast the pursuit of goals! Cheers darlings!

Categories: Family, Goals, Growth, Health, Thought for Day, Wine | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

