What a wonderful world!

The lead up to this election has been perhaps the most dramatic in my lifetime. And I’ve been stuck like glue to the TV trying to take it all in. I passed out last night watching the pundits and prognosticators trying to belch out all the likely scenarios we Americans face at the end of voting today. Liberal voices and conservative voices combined eventually to just voices…American voices!

I woke this morning with a great deal of anticipation. I had studied the many Props facing the voters of my State. I had written a list so as not to forget when I got to the ballot box and somehow vote the “wrong” way. As I brushed my pearly whites, I heard in the back of my mind Louis Armstrong singing…

I see trees of green…….. red roses too
I see em bloom….. for me and for you
And I think to myself…. what a wonderful world.

I see skies of blue….. clouds of white
Bright blessed days….dark sacred nights
And I think to myself …..what a wonderful world.

The colors of a rainbow…..so pretty ..in the sky
Are also on the faces…..of people ..going by
I see friends shaking hands…..sayin.. how do you do
They’re really sayin……i love you.

I hear babies cry…… I watch them grow
They’ll learn much more…..than Ill never know
And I think to myself …..what a wonderful world
Yes I think to myself …….what a wonderful world.

At 6:45a I was out the door and by 7a I had arrived at my polling place…only to find a line. A line of good ole’ Americans, just like me. Excited to do our civic duty and vote. As required by law, there was no proselytizing or expounding on one’s stated political beliefs. No one wore buttons or stickers telling us how to vote on the many ballot issues that we would be faced with in the ballot box. No, we were just Americans and it seemed to me, just for a minute, like everyone’s “aura” was singing in tune with Louis Armstrong.

After voting, I rushed to the train station to catch my morning commuter train. As I descended below ground into the coolness of the station, I noticed something; instead of the sound of voices in conversation, there was music floating throughout that cavernous space. Where was it coming from? I couldn’t tell, but the words, the music, they were exactly what I had heard playing in my mind early, early this morning.

As Louis Armstrong’s rich, vibrant voice resounded around the rock formations, I was reminded again of just how proud I am to be an American. As I stood side by side with my fellow Americans this morning, we were not Republican or Democrat. There were no other parties represented either. No, only good, hard-working, proud Americans were represented this morning in the faces of each voter. In fact, as I’ve watched the news since, I’ve seen it on every face…Proud Americans exercising their right and duty…as Americans!

We may not agree on the issues, that’s a given. Smart people are found on all sides of the issues. In the end though, no matter our positions, we are Americans!

“…And I think to myself, what a wonderful world!”

j.

Categories: 2008 Presidential Campaign, Life, Louis Armstrong | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “What a wonderful world!

  1. Rachel Palm

    So beautiful, the reading almost brought tears to my eyes, the song clenched it. Thank you!

  2. Grandmom

    I love that song. It was sung at my youngest son’s wedding reception by my blind Jewish friend who can belt out a Louis Armstrong that sounds just like Louie.

    If I have one memory of my youngun’ it is coming into the department store where he worked and finding him perched atop a tall ladder hanging some fixtures and singing that song at the top of his lungs…for employee and customer alike.

    I ducked around another aisle hoping not to be seen…but he spotted me and yelled in that booming voice…”hey Mom! are you Christmas shopping? Don’t buy me any socks or underwear!!”

    *sigh*…The joys of motherhood….

  3. Rain Flatt

    I am glad to live in a place where my friends run the gamut of beliefs and have opinions that are contrary to mine…..I LOVE THIS COUNTRY! with ALL the differences.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

