In My Arms

The phone rang and the voice on the other end asked if I needed a little escapism for the evening.  Calls like this one are rare these days.  If you’re a parent, I’m sure you understand.   The towncar arrived at the appointed hour and, decked out in my Hollywood finest I breathed a prayer for safety, climbed in and felt the power of the big car whisking me away from my suburban drudgery.

The doorman at the Mayan lifted the velvet rope and a quick smile flashed across my face as the thought of those waiting in the blocks-long line wondering who I might be provided a brief moment of ego-boosting.  I made my way through the throngs already filling the dance floor to a small door off to the left of the stage.  Burly security guards waved me through in to the hustle and bustle of the staging area.  I took in the scene as memories of my past life flooded my mind.  It felt good to be back!

I entered the Green Room and greeted my friend of many years.  He’s made quite a name for himself as a DJ; traveling the world, playing great venues with larger and larger crowds.  He’s a star and I was proud to be remembered.  “Five minutes” came the call.  We made our way to the wings of the stage.  I glanced out over the crowd and felt goosebumps cover my entire body.

With a single spotlight shining on him, T took his place behind the decks; the crowd went wild.  With a small group of friends, I stood on the stage to the left of T breathing in the energy of the music and the undulating crowd.  As the beats eminated from the massive sound system, I couldn’t resist; my feet took over and I danced the hours away!

In the early morning hours, as we played catch up, I asked T about a song he’d thrown into the mix earlier.   “I hoped you’d catch that” he said.  “I played it for you!”  It was great to feel the bond between old friends again!

T and I talked until the first rays of the sun begin peeking through the darkness.  He told me about his life; the craziness that goes with playing clubs, red-eye flights and studio-time.  I told him about my year; the highs but mostly the lows.  A tear made it’s way slowly down my cheek.

As I stood to leave and return to my life, T got up from the sofa and made his way over to a case full of albums.  He flipped through the contents, quickly pulling one out and then handed it to me as I walked out the door.

As the powerful car whisked me away from the hotel in downtown LA, I pulled out the sleeve notes and read these words –

your baby blues
so full of wonder
your curley cues
your contageous smile
and as i watch
you start to grow up
all I can do is hold you tight

knowing clouds will rage and
storms will race in
but you will be safe in my arms
rains will pour down
waves will crash all around
but you will be safe in my arms

story books are full of fairy tales
of kings and queens and the bluey skies
My heart is torn just in knowing
you’ll someday see the truth from lies

when the clouds will rage and
storms will race in
but you will be safe in my arms
rains will pour down
waves will crash all around
but you will be safe in my arms

Castles, they might crumble
dreams may not come true
but you are never on your own
’cause I will always
always love you

when the clouds will rage and
storms will race in
but you will be safe in my arms
rains will pour down
waves will crash all around
but you will be safe in my arms
in my arms

The scripture tells us that in this life we will have trouble but that we aren’t to get all worked up about it.  It’s part of this thing called humanity.  As I thought of that scripture, a scene from earlier in the evening swept over me.  As T had played In My Arms (Bimbo Jones Remix) by Plumb [for me], I had inexplicably felt the arms of Father God wrapped around me and I felt a peace roll over me; I worshipped.  Exiting the car and walking to the front door, a first ray of sunshine streamed down on me and again I felt that peace which passeth all understanding envelope me.

I am always amazed at the many ways God shows his love and care for we his creations.

but you are never on your own
’cause I will always
always love you

j.

Categories: God's Care, Life, Love, Peace | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “In My Arms

  1. I am so sorry you have had so much difficulty in your life recently Jonathan. God bless.

  2. Thanks David! I think I’ve learned much more about the heart of God this past year than probably at anytime in my life. I truly am amazed at the many and varied ways he demonstrates his love for us!

    j.

  3. Lucas Moura

    Hi!
    I’m from Brazil and, looking for the lyrics of “In My Arms” on Google, i’ve found your blog.
    In the start, I would not read your text, but something made me read it.
    It was just amazing! I really like your testimony and it really touched deeply in my heart.
    This song is really blessful and tells us what we need to hear in some times of difficult.

    Our powerful God bless your life, and let you be a light through this website.

  4. CanuckGirl

    I found this blog by looking for this song (artist unknown at the time)and was so moved not only by the song but by your words. It’s an amazing lesson that we never know who we’re going to touch in what way, so we should always strive to shine an amazing light, be a beautiful beacon unto the world. Thanks for sharing your testimony!

  5. G8tr Girl

    The song is absolutely beautiful, and I think of my two sons when I hear it. They did grow up, and are now men facing the realities of life. I choose not to tie the religion into it, since I feel that religion is merely folklore and superstition. This song has meaning without including (insert your god here).

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

