Sunday Reflections

sunday-blossoms.jpeg

The sun made its lazy way into the sky as ribbons of light danced and sparkled on the ocean in front of my house. Joggers made their way along the path breathing in the gentle ocean breezes. Neighbors came out and collected their papers, with some venturing beyond the confines of their front porches to walk their dogs. Seated on my front porch with a piping hot cup of coffee, I held a VIP seat to the awakening of my little world.

Sundays are my day to recharge. While I am not always successful, I try to carve time out on Sundays to do some things I normally wouldn’t do during the week. I try to stay away from getting wrapped up in the mundane duties that seem to zap my energy. And so, by seven in the morning, I found myself in a pair of pajama bottoms, on my front porch, sipping that hot cup of coffee and watching the world slowly and lazily start to wake up. A cruise ship finished it’s approach and docked, adding to a picture perfect view. I love Sundays!

I wandered inside and fixed a bit of breakfast, avoiding the computer and the TV, just wanting to enjoy a bit of peace in my world. Munching on a piece of bacon, I grabbed my digital camera and made my way out into my sun-drenched backyard determined to stop and really smell the roses. As I pointed my camera at the blooming peach, appricot, orange and grapefruit trees, a line from Psalm 33 came to me:

[the] Earth is drenched in God’s affectionate satisfaction. (v5)

As I breathed in the fragrant air watching butterflies swoop in, gently landing on fragile blossoms, it hit me that I don’t take enough time exploring and enjoying the beauty around me. I wondered how many times I miss hearing a bird sing it’s song or a rose bud come to fragrant life because I’m too busy pursuing the great American dream. I wonder if perhaps I don’t take enough time to wrap myself in this amazing showcase of God’s handiwork evidenced in the microcosm of my backyard. Yeah, most of the time I’m just too busy.

As I snapped one more picture as a reminder of my Sunday reflections, an old hymn began playing through my mind and has continued to play it’s melody:

For the beauty of the earth,
For the glory of the skies;
For the love which from our birth,
Over and around us lies;
Lord of all, to Thee we raise
This, our hymn of grateful praise.

For the wonder of each hour,
Of the day and of the night;
Hill and vale and tree and flow’r,
Sun and moon, and stars of light;
Lord of all, to Thee we raise
This, our hymn of grateful praise.

For the joy of ear and eye,
For the heart and mind’s delight;
For the mystic harmony,
Linking sense to sound and sight;
Lord of all, to Thee we raise
This, our hymn of grateful praise.

For the joy of human love,
Brother, sister, parent, child;
Friends on Earth and friends above,
For all gentle thoughts and mild;
Lord of all, to Thee we raise
This, our hymn of grateful praise.

For Thyself, best Gift Divine,
To the world so freely given,
For that great, great love of Thine,
Peace on earth and joy in heaven.
Lord of all, to Thee we raise
This, our hymn of grateful praise.

After spending a little more than an hour snapping pictures, inspecting flowers and petting the dog, I walked back in refreshed and with the Psalmist breathed a prayer of dependance on God.

Love us, God, with all you’ve got – that’s what we’re depending on. (Psalm 33:22)

j.

Categories: Breathe, God's Care, Love | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

