…out of nothing…

My friend Mark Cork has finally gotten in the blogging business. Mark and his wife Jacque served as the worship pastors for a church I attended years ago and their transparency in worship and pure joy in leading others in worship was a beautiful thing to be a part of. Yesterday I took a moment to peruse Mark’s new blog Streams and again found myself challenged and inspired by him. I guess you could say he got me to thinking a little bit. Thanks Mark for reminding me that God works in ways we don’t see, through circumstances we don’t understand and through people who don’t always look and sound like we often think they should. In his post yesterday, Mark shared how God used a song by Sting to trigger a renewel within him.

Mark’s request for his reader’s thoughts made me think about Carrie Underwood and a song she performed on the smash TV hit show American Idol the year she ended up being the winner. On one particular evening, Carrie Underwood brilliantly sang a song made famous in the 80s by AirSupply.  As she sang Making Love Out Of Nothing At All, I began to think about what it really meant to me as a Christian. When I came to Christ, I was a shell of a person. I was filled with hatred, self-loathing, bitterness, anger. To be honest, had I brought my mess to anyone else, they would have turned me away, telling me there wasn’t anything to work with.

Instead, I made a connection with a God who loved me when there wasn’t anything to love. I would bet that most of us who have come into a relationship with God, first met Him when we were at our worst. The scriptures indicate that we are all sinners and have fallen short of God’s glory. There was nothing about any of us that should have warranted love. And yet…He made something beautiful…out of nothing. A line in that song says…

You can take the darkness from the pit of the night
And turn it into a beacon burning endlessly bright.
I’ve got to follow it, ’cause everything I know,
Well it’s nothing ’til I give it to you.

In my hopelessness He brought hope. In my despair He brought peace. In my incompleteness, He filled me and made me whole! Gloria Gaither wrote a song that goes…

Something beautiful, something good,
All my confusion, He understood.
All I had to offer, was brokenness and strife,
But He made something beautiful out of my life.

It’s good for us to remember how empty we were before our encounter with God. Sometimes those of us who have been on this journey for a while, get a little jaded. We get used to the fulfillment He has brought and sometimes, we forget that there are others who still need to find that love. Sometimes I think we forget that our lives were best summed up by the line that goes…

the beating of my heart is a drum, and it’s lost,
and it’s looking for a rhythm like you.

We end up walking on the other side of the street from people who we used to be just like. But when we remember where we’ve come from and how far we’ve come on this journey, it helps us reach out to those who have yet to experience that love. In my life, I was lost, and I was looking for that rhythm. He made love out of nothing at all!

j.

Categories: Carrie Underwood, Christian, God's Care, Love, Mercy | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “…out of nothing…

  1. Excellent thoughts Jonathan. I’m quite certain this is the first time Air Supply and Gloria Gaither were ever mentioned in the same anything. Not to mention Sting and Carrie Underwood. All that aside, I’m thankful for a God who’s so interested in US that He doesn’t allow the crap of our lives to get in the way of His love and forgiveness.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

