Find Your Garden

My morning started like they all do; way too early! At 5a, my alarm starts to go off and by 5:45a, I’m out of bed with a steaming cup of Coffee in hand. By 6a, I’ve managed to shift into about 4th gear, making beds, lunches and in general trying to shepherd stragglers out the door. By 6:30a, I have an empty house, save one hungry dog. By 6:45a, Shiba has eaten and I’ve thrown on a pair of sweats and running shoes and am out the door.

This morning, as I made my way across the street to Bluff Park and started my stretches, I began to hear the soft, southern-accented voice of my grandmother singing in the beautiful soprano I remember from my childhood…

I come to the garden alone
While the dew is still on the roses
And the voice I hear falling on my ear
The Son of God discloses.

As I listened intently, I heard the rich baritone voice of my father join my grandmother’s soprano and their voices rose as they sang in perfect harmony…

And He walks with me, and He talks with me,
And He tells me I am His own;
And the joy we share as we tarry there,
None other has ever known.

As I jogged along the path on the bluff overlooking the beach, listening to the music in my head, I looked down and saw that someone had written in the sand in huge block letters, God Loves You. As my pace quickened, my heart was overwhelmed as I thought of the love of God.

As I watched the sun slowly rise over the ocean, I was reminded about the importance of finding our own garden. That time of the day that we carve out just for us. That little bit of alone time where we meditate. My thirty minute run down the ocean every morning has become my most cherished time of the day. With no distractions, I meditate on what’s going on in my life. This morning my mediation reminded me of God’s love and that He’s walking and talking with me in my garden.

These garden moments are important to our total health; mentally, spiritually and physically. It came to me this morning that our “garden” doesn’t have to have rose bushes or even plants. All that we need to make our garden grow is a little alone time where we shut the world out and meditate on the goodness around us and in us. In my garden this morning, I was reminded that the One who made me and knows me best, loves me even more.

j.

Categories: Garden, God's Care, Life, Love, Music, Peace | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Find Your Garden

  1. Ria

    JB-
    Your blog was surreal – Are you a real human being or an angel? How do you find the energy for all you do? How do you wake up so early with a song, a hymn no less, in your head? I’ve still got a lot to learn from you, my friend…

    Love you mucho-
    Ria

  2. Doug

    Jonathan,
    Do you write articles for publication? If you don’t, you should consider it! I could picture everything in this post so vividly. Thanks for sharing.
    Doug

  3. Way to go! Thank God for His faithfullness and care. 🙂

    I agree with Doug, you should send this script as well as others to a publisher and let others be blessed.

    love you LOTS,
    Mom

  4. Jessica Wise

    Jonathan, you have a real gift for expressing your thoughts. I hope you are able to find a way to share these writings with as many people as possible.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

